The TexasFred Blog
News Opinion Commentary
This is The Header

McConnell and 32 Republicans file brief on repealing health reform

November 19th, 2010 . by TexasFred

McConnell and 32 Republicans file brief on repealing health reform

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell and 32 other GOP senators officially filed a brief on Thursday in favor of a court case challenging healthcare reform.

McConnell filed a 16-page brief in a federal case based in Florida arguing that a key part of the new healthcare law, the requirement that all individuals have health insurance, was unconstitutional.

“Where, as in this case with respect to the [health bill]‟s individual mandate, Congress legislates without authority, it damages its institutional legitimacy and precipitates divisive federalism conflicts like the instant litigation,” McConnell wrote in the filing. “The long term harms that the PPACA may do to our governmental institutions and constitutional architecture are at least as important as are the specific consequences of the PPACA.”

The senators who signed onto the brief are: Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Kit Bond (R-Mo.), Sam Brownback (R-Kan.), Jim Bunning (R-Ky.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.), Tom Coburn (R-Okla.), Thad Cochran (R-Miss.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Bob Corker (R-Tenn.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Jim DeMint (R-S.C.), John Ensign (R-Nev.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Mike Johanns (R-Neb.), Jon Kyl (R-Ariz.), George LeMieux (R-Fla.), John McCain (R-Ariz.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Pat Roberts (R-Utah), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Olympia Snowe (R-Maine), John Thune (R-S.D.), David Vitter (R-La.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

Full Story Here:
McConnell and 32 Republicans file brief on repealing health reform

I was sincerely hoping that I wouldn’t have to use this very often, and I certainly didn’t expect to make it a GROUP award, but that is exactly what I am about to do.

To the GOP Senators that didn’t sign the brief: Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), Scott Brown (R-Mass.), Robert Bennett (R-Utah), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Judd Gregg (R-N.H.), Richard Lugar (R-Ind.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), George Voinovich (R-Ohio);

For your ignominious actions against those that have elected you to protect this nation, for your continued disgraceful display of cowardice and anti-Americanism, you are hereby made the 1st recipients of the TexasFred Blog award of the RINO OF THE WEEK.

No Republican senators-elect signed onto the amicus curiae filing since the brief is an official Senate communication, and none of the new members are sworn in.

I told all of my readers that as soon as the elections were over that we would see an immediate resurgence of RINOism. We all knew that the above named were RINOs, now all we have to do is wait until shortly after the new Senators are sworn in to find out how many more RINOs we can add to the list.

America is in one of the worst positions it has ever been in, short of the Great Depression. We came perilously close to that happening, and it was by the grace of God that we didn’t fall into a full blown depression.

Look at the names that didn’t sign the amicus curiae, that is a list of ‘The Usual Suspects’.

« Read the rest of this post HERE! »

Bookmark and Share
Return: Top of Home Page